Settings

Cryptobase® ›› General Functions ››
Parent Previous Next


You can change initial values and the way the software deals with data in the Settings window.

To open this window select <TOOLS><SETTINGS> on the Menu Bar.


GENERAL tab

CALENDAR tab

 

Defines the distance between horizontal lines in the calendar. Clicking and dragging with the mouse on the calendar will set and increase the duration of an event by multiples of 15, 20, 30 or 60 minutes (Day, Workday or Week view).

Set the period to appear when opening the calendar.

Set start time and end time of the workday.

Set the time that appears on the first line of the calendar.

"Private" events (events marked as particularly sensitive) can be either hidden or appear as asteriscs in Month View when the app is in "Hidden Private Data" mode.




CONTACTS tab


Phone numbers (and other details) in the Contacts module carry a descriptive label (like "home", "work" etc.) which can be typed in directly or selected from a list of preset labels in the dropdown list. The preset labels can be defined/edited in this form.

The following example shows the predefined labels for the "Addresses" in the dropdown list.

Add a new label:        click the "Add" button.

Edit a label:        select it from the dropdown list and click the "Edit" button.

Delete a label:        select it from the dropdown list and click the "Delete" button.




SECURITY tab

 

If unchecked, the records marked as "private" (particularly sensitive) will be hidden by default when the program starts. When checking this checkbox to show "private" records at the next startup, you will be asked for the Master Password before the change will be accepted.

Protecting your personal data is the foremost goal of Cryptobase®. Therefore, the application can be set to execute a protective action automatically if not used for a certain time, in order to prevent other users from gaining access to your sensitive data, e.g. when you are leaving your workstation while Cryptobase® is still running.

After having been idle for a preset time, Cryptobase® will either:

By default, Cryptobase® hides all private data after having been idle for 5 minutes. The time can be set with from 1 to 15 minutes. 

If you want to skip this option, set the time to 0 (zero). This will keep the program running until you actively close it (with the risk that you may forget about it when leaving the PC). 

If a module is not needed, its button in the sidebar can be hidden: uncheck the corresponding checkbox.

When "private" records have been hidden, a PIN allows for a quicker access to display these data again, especially on mobile devices with awkward keyboards. You have only one chance to enter the correct PIN. If the PIN is wrong, the dialog window for entering the main password will be displayed.

A number of any length is accepable as PIN.

In the event you need to change your Master Password, click the button. You will be asked to enter the old Password before entering and confirming the new one. Remember that the Password should be a "strong" one because the security of your data relies on its resistance to smart and brute force attacks.

This procedure is a much more radical one and, depending on the size of the file, time consuming. Therefore it should only be attempted if there is a relevant threat of disclosure of crucial access parameters (main password).

This procedure will

    1. Create a completely new database (new file) with new encryption keys.
    2. ALL (!) data will be copied from the old database to the new one with modified encryption.
    3. Eventually, the old database will be made unusable, both locally on this device and in the cloud.

Data conversion and transfer will take some time, depending on the size of the database.

For cloud backup and syncing you need to register the new database with your account.

Any copy of the old database on other devices will be inactivated via cloud.

A new database will be created with new baseline encryption keys, all data will be transferred with new encryption to the new database. Eventually, the old database will be inactivated.

The new database retains the same name as the old one. The old will be renamed to

If the old database was in sync with the cloud, this will not be effective with the new database. For interaction with the cloud, the new database will first have to be registered with the cloud account.


Synchronization


Determine whether the database should be cloud synchronized when starting the program, at shut down, both or neither. You can always  sync the database by pressing the "Sync" toolbar botton.